About the Clerk’s Office

The Jefferson County Clerk’s Office is a State Constitutional office with varied duties governed by the Kentucky Revised Statutes. Our office is responsible for public documents and information recorded, indexed and filed within Jefferson County.

Through our Legal Records Division, we collect delinquent real estate taxes, and assist the public in retrieving, researching, copying and viewing legal documents such as: Business names, corporations, deeds and mortgages, executive orders, name changes, wills, liens, and releases. We record and index all legal real estate documents, including, but not limited to, powers of attorney, assignments and releases, and fixture filing/UCC filings. We issue marriage licenses, notary commissions, special police registrations, regulated medical licenses, transient merchants permits, and going out of business licenses.

The Deed Room is located in the Louisville Metro Hall, 527 W. Jefferson Street, on the 2nd floor (room 204). Our Professional License and Delinquent Tax Department is also located in the Louisville Metro Hall, room 100-A. Our phone numbers are:

Deed Room Customer Service:
Marriage License:
Notary License:
Delinquent Tax:


We register or renew approximately 700,000 vehicles yearly through our Motor Vehicle Division. We also issue decals and plates, and collect taxes on all Jefferson County motor vehicles, including motor boats. Additionally, we issue permanent and temporary disabled parking permits and file liens on titled collateral. We have eight motor vehicle branch offices for your convenience. Locate the branch office nearest you. All branch locations can be reached by dialing the Motor Vehicle Call Center at 502.574.5700.

The Jefferson County Clerk, Bobbie Holsclaw, serves as the Chairwoman of the Jefferson County Board of Elections and plays a key role in the conduct of elections. All petitions for candidates for elective county offices are filed with the County Clerk and drawing for ballot positions is conducted by the Clerk. She is responsible for printing ballots, canvassing the votes at Primary and General Elections; and, along with other Jefferson County Board of Election board members, certifies Election Day votes to the Secretary of State of the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

The Jefferson County Board of Elections is located on 1000 East Liberty Street. Phone: 502.574.6100. Contact the Jefferson County Clerk by e-mail at: .

To write to our office, please send correspondence to:

Jefferson County Clerk’s Office
P.O. Box 33033
Louisville, KY 40232-3033

EnglishEspañolहिन्दीTiếng ViệtKiswahili简体中文FrançaisDeutsch